Say yes
Just another WordPress.com weblog

I’m tired!

I was really most interested in the discussion of searching that occurred in the last half of class today. I’ve developed a number of searching exercises for my writing students to get them to question and test the validity of various online sources, but I feel they really need help in basic searching skills. Although our librarian gives workshops on how to access our subscription databases—and how to conduct quality searchs–most students end up relying on google, because it’s comfortable.

I’m also a little overwhelmed, perhaps because I’m new to library science. My partner for tonight’s searching assignment works in a library, so she was very helpful in demystifying the process. Right now, I feel like I learn something and almost immediately forget it, which is frustrating, because I know that what comes tomorrow will be built on what we have done today.

No Responses to “I’m tired!”

Leave a Reply

